CIB W78 Information Technology for Construction 39th Conference

27-30 june 2022 at rmit university, melbourne

New Speakers announced!


The 39th W78 Conference @WBC2022 brings together a community of researchers and industry pros interested in the areas of Construction Informatics, BIM, Digital Twins, Education and Knowledge Management for design, construction and building operations and facilities management. It follows the 2021 conference in Luxembourg and presents more papers and research on BIM and VR/AR for building and heritage interventions (H-BIM).

Time slots dedicated to scientific exchanges among participants are designed to maximize interactions and encourage networking and future collaborations. The event will run face-to-face at RMIT University's Melbourne City Campus with an option for online attendance.


View the CIB W078 Program

W078 Conference Sessions are in RMIT Room 80.3.15


  • Artificial Intelligence and Construction Automation

  • Digital Twins and Building Information Modelling

  • Virtual and Augmented Reality

  • Blended Learning, Capacity Building and Knowledge Management

Detailed Topics

Paper submissions, Reviews and Awards

Image by Christina @ wocintechchat.com

the charles m. eastman top paper award

  • Awarded to the Best Paper by a PhD Student in the category CIB W078: Information Technology for Construction

  • Presented at each of W078's annual international conferences to recognise and celebrate emerging academic talent in the application of integrated IT throughout the life cycle of the design, construction and occupancy of buildings and related facilities.

  • Click here for more information about the PhD Paper Award

Image by Joshua Sortino

CIB W78 Conference

Scientific Committee

  • Professor Robert Amor, University of Auckland, New Zealand  

  • Associate Professor Mehrdad Arashpour, Monash University, Australia

  • Professor David Arditi, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA

  • Senior Research Fellow Scott Beazley, University of Wollongong, Australia

  • Professor Manfred Breit, Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz, FHNW, Switzerland

  • Dr. Jack C.P. Cheng, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

  • Dr. José Antonio Chica Paéz, TECNALIA, Spain

  • Dr. Peter Demian, Loughborough University, UK

  • Prof. Robin Drogemuller, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

  • Professor Esin Ergen, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey

  • Dr. Gilles Halin, University of Lorraine, France

  • Professor Timo Hartmann, TU Berlin, Germany

  • Professor Eilif Hjelseth, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

  • Dr. Alan Hore, TU Dublin, Ireland

  • Dr. Sami (Abdul Samad) Kazi, Research Team Leader, VTT, Finland

  • Dr. Sylvain Kubicki, Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology, Luxembourg

  • Professor Pierre Leclercq, University of Liège, Belgium

  • Senior Engineer, John Legge-Wilkinson, ARUP, Melbourne, Australia

  • Associate Professor Evelyn Teo, National University of Singapore

  • Dr. Nicola Moretti, Centre for Digital Built Britain, University of Cambridge, UK

  • Dr. Ivan Mutis, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA

  • Dr. James O'Donnell, University College Dublin, Ireland

  • Dr. Ioan Petri, Cardiff University, UK

  • Associate Professor Ana Roxin, Univ. Bourgogne Franche-Comté (UBFC), France

  • Associate Professor Willy Sher, University of Newcastle, Australia

  • Dr. Bilal Succar, Change Agents, Melbourne, Australia

  • Dr. Ir.-Arch. Pieter Pauwels, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

  • Professor Pieter de Wilde, Plymouth University, UK

  • Dr. Tom Beach, Cardiff University, UK

  • Dr. Reid Senescu, Doxel.AI, California, USA

  • Professor Sergio Scheer, Universidade Federal do Parana, Brazil

  • Assist. Professor Eduardo Toledo Santos, University of São Paulo

  • Dr. Dimosthenis Kifokeris, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

  • Professor Tarek Hassan, Loughborough University, UK

  • Professor Dr.-Ing. Philipp Geyer, TU Berlin, Germany

  • Professor Rafael Sacks, Technion University, Israel

  • Professor Paolo Tombesi, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland

  • Dr Kumal Vishal, National University of Singapore

  • Associate Professor Hans Voordijk, TU Twente, The Netherlands

  • Dr Nick Williams, Aurecon, Melbourne, Australia

RMIT University: Scientific and Organising Committee

  • Dr. Frank Boukamp

  • Dr. Ruwini Edirisinghe (School representative)

  • Dr. Matt Francis

  • Dr. Nigel Goodman

  • Dr. Pauline Teo

  • Professor Peter Wong

Contact us

guillermo pic.jpg

Guillermo Aranda-Mena

CIB W78 Conference Chair

For updates and detailed information, check out our W78 conference blog: https://cibw78.blogspot.com/

We look forward to seeing you in Melbourne!